Discover the history of Tredegar House
Tredegar House is one of the architectural wonders of Wales and one of the most significant late 17th century houses in the whole of the British Isles. For over 500 years it was home to one of the greatest Welsh families, the Morgan's, later Lords of Tredegar, until they left in 1951.The House has been beautifully restored and refurbished by Newport City Council. Its gilded opulent interiors reach a high point in the State Rooms. The most stunning of these is the Gilt Room, a symphony in wood panelling bordered in gold leaf with paintings let into the upper panels. The Brown Drawing Room is no less impressive with exquisitely carved wood panelling setting off a fine ceiling and candelabra. The House is also faithful to the memory of the servants who worked there. The House stands within a 90 acre Country Park, an expansive area of beautifully tended parkland with a large lake, oak avenue, stable block, Orangery and Visitor Centre.