Treasurer's House, York
Explore The Treasurer´s House in the centre of York
The Treasurer´s House, named after the Treasurer of York Minster and built over a Roman Road, nestles behind the Minster and dates back to 1091. It was carefully restored, by the wealthy Victorian industrialist Frank Green, between 1897 and 1930. It has a huge hall with a half timbered gallery supported by classical columns, a fine carved and gilded 18th century chimney piece. The collection of 18th century furniture, china and glass provides an insight into the taste of Edwardian connoisseurs. There is also the famous haunted cellar. The award-winning garden and terrace walls contain architectural fragments from the restoration of the Minster.