Kelmscott Manor is a 17th century farmhouse known for its inspiration on William Morris - writer, designer and craftsman, who first saw it in 1871.
Due to major conservation and improvement works funded by the National Lottery Heritage Fund, the Manor is now closed. Visit the website for more information.
Where is Kelmscott Manor located?
Kelmscott Manor is located in the small village of Kelmscott, near Lechlade on the Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and West Oxfordshire border.
What is the history of Kelmscott Manor to the present day?
Kelmscott Manor was built around 1600 as a farmhouse, and owned by the Turner family for many generations. William Morris rented the property from 1871 until his death in 1896, and it inspired many of his more iconic designs, such as the Strawberry Thief and Willow, and writings including the Utopian novel "News from Nowhere". It also influenced his thinking on environmental issues and building conservation.
After his death, the Manor was bought by his wife Jane and lived in by his daughter May until her death in 1938. Family members are buried in the nearby churchyard.
The Manor welcomes thousands of visitor from across the world every year to experience the same beauty and sense of history that inspired William Morris.
What is there to see and do at Kelmscott Manor?
Visitors can discover treasures including William Morris' own collection of ceramics, textiles, metalwork, furnishings and books. Also on display are examples of Jane and May Morris's beautiful and expert needlework, and items designed and produced by Morris and his associates.
In addition to exploring the historic manor house, and the collection on display, visitors may also stroll around the gardens, original barns, dovecote, stream and meadow. There is a licensed tearoom, serving cream teas and light meals, and a charming gift shop. Visitors can also walk through the village and visit St George's Church, where a gravestone, designed by Philip Webb, marks the burial place of William Morris and his family.
The car park is located next to the church, at the top of the village. There is a 10 to 12 minute walk through the village to the Manor. If visitors are unable to make this walk, they may park at the Manor itself.