An 18th-century mansion and estate shaped by a storey of love and neglect Built for the first Lord Berwick
in 1785, Attingham Hall and its beautiful parkland have been owned by one family for more than 160 years.
As their fortunes rose and fell, they proved themselves to be spenders, saviours and saviours-providing
a fascinating storey of love and neglect whose mark is still in Attingham's rooms today.
The eighth Lord and Lady, in the Attingham
Re-Discovered venture, started restore work that lives on.
2017 marks 70 years since Attingham was handed over
to the National Trust by Thomas, 8th Lord Berwick.
During the year, they will be looking back at the preservation and restoration work and programmes carried out
in the mansion and the wider estate throughout that time, as well as looking at how Attingham did.