An eighteenth century house and home formed by an account of affection and disregard
Built for the main Lord Berwick in 1785, Attingham Hall and its wonderful parkland were possessed by one family for over 160 years. As their fortunes rose and fell they demonstrated themselves to be spenders, savers and rescuers - giving a captivating story of affection and disregard whose imprint despite everything remains in Attingham's rooms today.
Find the hints of the family story all through the mansion, from the gaudy however flawed Picture Gallery rooftop that added to the insolvency of the second Lord Berwick, to the prized artworks of the dairy cattle that the fifth Lord adored.
The eighth Lord and Lady, started restoration work that lives on in the Attingham Re-Discovered undertaking. 2017 marks 70yrs since Attingham was passed on to the National Trust by Thomas, eighth Lord Berwick. During the time we'll be glancing back at the preservation and rebuilding work and activities completed in the house and more extensive home during that time, as well as taking a gander at how Attingham has changed since 1947.