Traquair House - Innerleithen | Historic Houses | Britain's Finest

WELCOME

See All (19)
Visit Website

Traquair House (Historic House)

Submit Review
Traquair is Scotland's oldest inhabited House dating from 1107, and lived in by the Stuart family since 1491. Originally a Royal hunting lodge, with strong Jacobean and Catholic history, there is much to see within its walls. The House also has extensive informal gardens, with the largest hedged maze in Scotland, and it's own Traquair House Brewery.

Where is Traquair House located?

Traquair is located in the beautiful Tweed Valley within the Scottish Borders. Just 45 minutes from the edge of Edinburgh, and set between the Borders towns of Peebles and Galashiels.

What is the history of Traquair House to the present day?

Built in 1107, Traquair was originally a hunting lodge for the Kings and Queens of Scotland; in 1491 it was gifted by the Earl of Buchan to his son, James Stewart, who became the first laird of Traquair. The building was expanded during the 1500s and 1600s a period when the Lairds were at the centre of political power, and welcomed Mary Queen of Scots to Traquair in 1566. In the early 1600s the 7th Laird became the Chief High Treasurer of Scotland and in 1636 received an earldom. However, in the mid 1600s the family returned to their Catholic faith and stood out as supporters of the Jacobite cause causing an increase in their isolation. The 2 'new' wings were added to the House in 1694 and nothing has been added since. These wings now House the Chapel, shop, dining room and 2 fine B&B guest rooms. In 1875, Lady Louisa Stuart died unmarried and the earldom was lost. The House passed to her cousin Henry Constable Maxwell, and it is from there that the current 21st Lady of Traquiar, Catherine Maxwell Stuart is descended; and now lives with her family in the House.

What is there to see and do at Traquair House?

Visitors can tour 19 rooms in the House, which retains an intimate family appeal and reflects fine examples of 18th century decor. There is an extensive collection of needlework, portraits and glass in the House, Mary Queen of Scot's bed and her son's cradle, and 2 libraries housing a collection of some 5000 books. With it's own on-site brewery visitors can sample and purchase the ales in the Malt Loft, get lost in the hedged maze, and sit in the Walled Garden sunshine enjoying lunch or cakes from the Garden Café.

Top Facilities

Disabled Access

Guided Tours

Facilities & Information

Summary

Child Friendly

Dog/Pet friendly

Facilities

Catering

Coaches

Disabled Access

Guided Tours

Shop

Extra info

Open Times: Daily, 1st April, May, June and September 11:00-17:00, July and August: 10:00-17:00,Daily in Oct 11:00 - 16:00, Weekends only in Nov 11:00-15:00. Guided Tours can be arranged outside normal opening hours.

Price Details: House & Grounds: Adult £9, Child £4.50, OAP £8.00, Family (2 adults + 3 children) £25.00. Grounds: Adult £4.50, Concession £3.50. Group rates (20+) available.

Directions

01896 830323
Get directions

Innerleithen, Scottish Borders, InnerleithenEH44 6PW, United Kingdom

Innerleithen, one and a half miles from Traquair. A 5 minute drive up to Traquair Village, and turn right to Traquair House. Or a 15-20 minute walk along the newly opened footpaths from Traquair Road and the bridge over the River Tweed.

This website uses cookies. Click here to read our Privacy Policy.
If that’s okay with you, just keep browsing. CLOSE