Royal Burgh of Culross
Step Back in Time and visit Royal Burgh of Culross
Culross Palace was built for Sir George Bruce between 1597 and 1611 and has original interiors with painted woodwork. On display are 17th and 18th century furniture, decorative items and a fine collection of Staffordshire and Scottish pottery. The rooms are small and feature Menel pine panelling, murals and ceiling paintings. Many of the rooms have vaulted ceilings, which were built to support the upper floors. A model 17th century garden has been restored to the rear and contains a variety of unusual vegetables and herbs that were all available in 1600.